CyberWTF

Aaron Crocco
3 min readJun 5, 2024

A couple weeks ago I was on the highway and my wife alerted me that a Tesla Cybertruck was ahead of us on the road. It took me a moment to see it, but sure enough about 3,000 feet ahead of us was Tesla’s newest creation.

As I drove past it, I could not believe how high it was compared to my car (a Hyundai Ioniq 5) and of course its design. About a minute later it shifted lanes, passed me and was gone for the day. Weirdly enough I saw another one the a couple days later as I drove through an intersection.

I’m going to stop here and lay out two facts I think are important to keep in mind:

  1. I’m an EV driver and advocate for anyone who is ready for their next car to go electric.
  2. I’m in the unique position to also own a stainless steel car with a polarizing design.

The Cybertruck, to me, is ugly and lacks any sense of style or design. On the outside (I have not been in one) lacks practicality to a near-comical level. Elon Musk designed a metal triangle with wheels and called it a day. Why?

Don’t get me wrong though. As an EV it is impressive to see a car that looks like nothing else and convey a sense of ‘cool’. Historically any car that had a weird look was mocked and never sold well. There’s a reason people make fun of the Prius. In this sense, somehow the Cybertruck has defied historical norms to be…

--

--

Aaron Crocco

I curate the internet and send it to hundreds of people in my newsletter each week. Yes, that is my DeLorean. #BTTF, Sliders, Whovian, . Powered by coffee ☕