Jobless

Aaron Crocco
3 min readMay 16, 2023

Pardon the interruption to my stability

Photo by Matt Noble on Unsplash

This is one of the hardest editions of TimeMachiner I’ve had to write. I’ll cut to the chase instead of going on and on. Late last week I was affected by downsizing at my company. Now I find myself unemployed, like many in the tech industry right now. Frankly, it’s a bloodbath out there. And it’s scary.

I went from a stable job performing QA work I enjoyed to now having to figure out navigating incredibly tough waters. Companies ghost candidates at a moment’s notice. Promising leads go cold. At a certain point, your entire network knows you’re looking and there’s no one else to ask about openings. Each day that ticks by brings another bill that is due because job or not, the bank needs its mortgage payment and my fridge needs food.

If you know of open QA roles wherever you work, please let me know. I have 10 years of experience (this is my LinkedIn) and would be happy to talk.

My brain is processing it as a loss and is going through “The Steps” because I was certainly shocked and I’m in the tail-end of the Angry stage. Of course, there’s sadness too. The sense of loss is real because I love working remotely but now my physical space hasn’t changed while my entire mental space has shifted. It can be lonely if I’m being honest.

--

--

Aaron Crocco

I curate the internet and send it to hundreds of people in my newsletter each week. Yes, that is my DeLorean. #BTTF, Sliders, Whovian, . Powered by coffee ☕